Asakusa Photowalk

I got to spend a weekend in Tokyo last month during my business trip;  which gave me the rare opportunity to join Alfie’s Japanorama Photowalk

I found Japanorama a few years back while searching for  pictures of Mount Fuji on Flickr.  Alfie runs a photography school in Tokyo.  His classes are usually conducted over the weekend with wide variety of topics including lighting, working with models, photo journalism, post-processing, etc.  One of the most popular classes is hands-on photowalk.  I’ve always wanted to join the group since I am curious to learn about what other people see through the lenses of ordinary street scenes.

We started the walk from Minami- Senju station around 4PM.  We stopped at random street corners whenever anyone spots something of interest; which is really cool cause I never realized that manhole covers can be intriguing if framed properly.  Along the way, we picked up tips and tricks from Alfie.  A couple of the best tips I learn were a)  I could use my LiveView feature to frame the shot when the camera is pointed at weird angle, and b) I could use LiveView to check the effect of White Balance.  Really cool.

As night got dark, we found an intersection where traffic pattern made an interesting flow of light.

I borrowed a tripod from a nice lady, and Alfie lent me his 14mm prime lens.  This is what I got 30 seconds later at F16.  I timed the exposure time so that the traffic going away from me got the most time; this is so the red beam of light gets more exposure time.

Eventually we arrived at Asakusa Sensoji.  Japan’s No. 1 temple by the number of visitors.  Surprisingly, there are not that many people at night since it was past 9PM when we got there.  After everyone got their shots of the tower, we moved on to the night hawker center area next to Sensoji.   I love the old-fashioned feel of this place.  To summarize the place in one picture, I borrowed a concept from one of Alfie’s work.  I really like how it turned out.
Asakusa Night Life

Highly recommend Alfie’s workshops if you get a chance to spend a weekend in Japan.

One Response to “Asakusa Photowalk”

  1. […] will write more about this here later […]

Leave a Reply

