Jillian Ann

I found Model Mayhem about 3 years ago.  I like browsing for models and getting ideas to work on.  One of my favorite models is Jillian Ann.  I always wondered what it would be like to work with such epic talent.  There is something about her work that I can’t take my eyes off.  So… dramatic. Unfortunately, Jillian moved to L.A. to pursue her music career (she is darn good at it) before I was brave enough to setup a shoot with her.  Luckily, she came back for a brief visit while performing at some local concerts;  needless to say, I jumped at the opportunity without hesitation.   Boy… she is totally worth the wait.

For this shot, I wanted to experiment with balance of spot lit and ambient.  I placed a beauty dish high above Jillian to create the effect of down light.  To reduce spill and reflection on the glass, I added a grid to reduce spread.  The tricky part of this shot is not light balance; it was placing Jillian in the right spot because the spot created by the grid was too tight.  I think I need to get the 30 degree spot someday.
Jillian Ann

Leave a Reply

