Lighting Diagram

Lighting Diagram

Lighting Diagram

I am going to try to create a lighting diagram for every picture I post.  I hope this will help some readers visualize the lighting setup. 

The idea behind this picture is to create a light which casts shadows on the wall behind Rosely.   A beauty dish was used because it tends to produce light with more contrast and more defined shadow on the wall compared to a softbox.

Rosely - Fashion

I ended up cropping out the shadow at the end because I thought the skirt she was wearing was taking away the attention from her pose.   Nevertheless, I think this turned out OK given the fact that this was shot in a small conference room.  When creating fashion or full-length portraits, shooting space is my biggest consideration.  Because:

– The more space you have, the more freedom you have when it comes to placing the lights.  For instance in this case, I can’t play trick with the background.  If I have more room, I could have placed a backdrop, pop a light to create a gradient, or more Rosely away from the wall to create a darker background.

– Another example is rim light.  If there is more space, I could add a light from behind to bring out her hair.

– I like to shoot full-length portraits from a distance using long lens, from a low angle.  Shooting from this vantage point makes the model taller and reduces distortion.

But you work with what you got, that’s when experience and having a go-to setup comes in handy.

One Response to “Lighting Diagram”

  1. such a perfect lighting…

Leave a Reply

